Jess & Molly Law

By jml

Under the pampas grass

Molly was exhausted this morning. When I went to the Post Office for the papers, she did not even raise her head to watch me go. I thought that today's blip would be about how she went on a long walk and chased a deer. She nearly caught it!

I fully expected that she would still not move as I came to take a photo of her, knackered, in the back of the car. Not her - as I approached, she suddenly shot to her feet, listening intently. I think that a nearby pheasant must have been sounding off. Tired though she was, I am sure that she would have been on the hunt again if she had continued to hear it.

She did not go after the bird. Instead, she just changed her sleeping-quarters. The pampas grass is a favourite spot - but usually only when she is trying to make herself unavailable. There are times when Molly can get so far into this clump of grass that we can hardly see her, let along persuade her to come out. Today, however, the sun is quite bright, and she is using this for another little bit of shade.

(This was Molly finding the pampas grass on her first day with us.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.