Hide Away Folk Family

By redclayhalo

Self portrait with steps

There's a series of steps running up from the centre of campus to a main car park to the east. All told there must be a hundred or more steps across five flights.

They have no name, but early on I christened them the Monckton Steps after someone in the university's past we're most unlikely to name a building after.

I like the way that sun falls across the steps in the afternoon light. But trying to capture them my own shadow kept getting in the way. So rather than give up, I incorporated myself into the picture.

I like the symmetry of the piece and the way the black handrails frame the image. And the shadow looks just a little macabre like a murder outline. I like that touch too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.