Dave Akerman

By daveake

Testing Testing

I decided against using my IXUS 50 for my "weather balloon in space" photo project, after Julie "adopted" the camera as her own! So I bought an A480 quite cheap on ebay. It takes AAs, which means I can put Lithium cells inside it, so it's a better option anyway.

Everything about a weather balloon project needs testing first - you don't want to find out that the camera stops early after getting it back to Earth after the actual flight! So today I ran the first tests to see what the battery life will be like.

I messed up! The special software (CHDK) for the camera that lets it take photos automatically, defaults to creating RAW files also. So the 8GB SD card filled up in an hour or so! So the camera then just sat there using up battery power without taking any photos, so I don't actually know how long they lasted. So tomorrow I'll try again, test #2!

This is one of the 900 photos it did manage to take before the card was full. I had the camera next to me on a chair when Bobby turned up for some attention!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.