Portsmouth and beyond...

By johnnyc1959

One photo....

Wandering around with a camera means that kids frequently come up and ask for you to take their photograph....usually after they've exhausted the litany of requests...'give me chocolate'...'give me $5'....'give me a pen' .

In truth, I don't usually mind the requests, as it tends to be a means of communicating. Once you get to know the Nepali language you also realise that the phrase 'give me' isn't them being impolite...its just a literal translation of the Nepali, which doesn't have please or thank you in it as a matter of course.

The beauty of a digital camera is (a) you can show the kids, (and today their grandparents too) straight away and (b) you can delete the photo later with impunity...

But... I really liked this shot....hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil (more or less)...

It wasn't posed, beyond me asking them to squat rather than stand...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.