challenge

By jkj10

Almost Cooked

I didn't think it was going to be possible to blip today. Spent a shocking three hours in the dentist chair this morning. So much anesthesia that my face is still numb four hours later. I hadn't realized how numb it was until I noticed I was drooling. Very attractive. It seems the dentist I have been seeing for the last ten years might have been a bit of a quack. I am starting to wonder if he was even a dentist at all. THe alarm bells first went off when my boy lost a milk tooth and I noticed it had two small cavities in it. When I took the tooth in for him to examine he turned bright red and told me that it was nothing to be concerned with and that it was just normal wear and tear. Hmm, I thought and immediately got on the internet. All the info pointed in the direction of decay. Later that month I was in New York having dinner when I could feel one of my teeth break right off. It was right out of my worst nightmare (a running theme in my dreams when I am most anxious). I made an emergency appointment and the Dentist confirmed my worst fears. I now have several months of serious and expensive dental work that could have been avoided if it had been seen to earlier.

They were exceptionally kind and gentle with me as they reconstructed my tooth. Lovely Aidy held my hand and constantly asked if I was okay. On one of my little breaks she told me that she had not had one photograph taken of her during her whole pregnancy so we nipped into the rather badly lit corridor and took a few. She made me laugh when she told me she thought she was huge. At eight and a half months I think she looks positively radiant. This is her best attempt at a 'serene' expression. It's exactly the look she gave me before they injected me full of novocaine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.