2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Shy snails

Raining at lunchtime and so no opportunity to get out for a walk. It seemed like a very long day today. Spent over an hour trying to negotiate the various train ticket websites to order tickets for Harrogate in a couple of weeks time. Very cold in the office and a very boring paper to edit. Getting caught by temporary traffic lights close to home on the way back was a pain too.

Just made it back in time for a quick look round the garden before the light faded and I had to go out again. The dandelion that was nearly yesterday's photo had already closed up and so I had to scout round for an alternative.

I spotted loads of very small snails wandering around the one of the garden walls. They all seemed to see me coming and kept hiding in their shells as soon as I got the camera anywhere near them. I think that they might have been discus snails - apparently they are very common snails that live in almost any type of cover provided by leaf litter, stones, logs, rubble, cracked brickwork etc.

I could have done with a shell to crawl into and hide today.

Tomorrow should be better - closer to Friday and I've got an evening learning about Fabulous Fifties clothing at my local library.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.