benek

By benek

Visible Dust

The moment of truth. the day I finally busted out my $100 Visible Dust Arctic Butterfly electric spinning magic wonder brush.

Conclusion: the dust is still very visible!

I followed the instructions and "charged" the brush before each swipe with a few seconds of the batter-powered whirl. Then gently swept over the sensor and pulled brush out. Re-spin, and repeat, about 10 times. Some dust was removed, but the two worst spots (big specks very visible without a magnifier) didn't go anywhere. I am majorly bummed!

Conclusion #2:

1) I wasted $100 on a fancy brush when what I really needed was something wetter and more powerful, or

2) I wasted $800 on a used 30d which has some permanent marks on the sensor that will be there forever.

Take your pick. Either way I'm not too happy. All the photos I take when I'm away with Bluesheep on our roadtrip will continue to have the spots that I've been trying to remove for a month.

take a look at this test shot and tell me what you think. I know it's not the best test shot, but they seem to always show up best over cloudy or overcast skies. Fortunately in these cases they're easy to clone out, but sometimes they are VERY difficult to remove.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.