The Poss

By PossMan

McBain Memorial Park

Well that what a notice just beyond the gate says. I came here about a year ago and as the weather today is pretty miserable thought I'd just nip quickly down General Wade's military road for a quick blip. "Park" is a rather grand title for this small piece of ground which is in the hills above Aldourie between Inverness and Dores. It's on a very small single-track minor road so quite a pleasant surprise when I first came across it. It's been lovingly planted - not just plants but also a good number of small notices. In the picture you can see the main memorial at the top of the little hillock. Sadly a metal plaque which used to be the centrepiece is no longer there. If by vandals or thieves then I'm very sorry for the people behind the project.

There are three or four images from my previous visit here on FLICKR which show the main memorial and some of the little notices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.