Wayfarer

By wayfarer

View From My Window

Okay, it's foggy and near midnight so it was this or nothing. We moved into this house when I was four and I grew up here, leaving when I was twenty three, though I still came back when I ran out of money or places to live, as one did.
On a clear day, the view takes in my old school and the sea, which is a mile away as the crow flies, though you end up on top of a cliff if you go that way.
I used to rush out of the house when the school bell went, and usually got to my desk around four minutes later, just as the teacher was preparing to call the register. I've pretty much lived that way ever since.

PS: I just got in from seeing Martin Carthy & Chris Parkinson at Lewes Folk Club (one of them - there are two) A great night of floor singers and superlative singing and playing from the headliners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.