SoozaDay

By soozaday

Fly Away Home

For various reasons I was feeling very sorry for myself this afternoon (admittedly hard to do on such a glorious warm and sunny day), so I went out to sit among the happy bugs to see what would happen. One thing I learned is that big fat black bees don't ever seem to land--they just buzz and buzz, then bomb each other and buzz some more. Another thing I learned is that our enormous yellow tulips are filled with pollen. When I first caught sight of this bug, I thought it was a yellow ladybug with a few red spots, and I laughed out loud when I realized what I was really looking at. Eventually she flew away, seemingly able to carry her own weight in pollen. Along came a black and red beetle to tank up, and in the face of all this plenty and celebration I forgot what I'd been so upset about and became very grateful to be sitting in the weeds with the sun on my back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.