Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Return of the Hummingbirds

They actually came a week ago, but I haven't had time to get a good photo. I'll have to make do with this one to accompany my story for today.

After the heavy rain we've had I was afraid that some water might have gotten into the hummingbird feeder. It's very important to maintain the proper concentration of sugar in the solution so I decided to refill it with a fresh batch. I went out onto the deck to get the feeder and just before I got back inside the house I was buzzed by an angry male who obviously thought I was stealing his food and wasn't happy about it. For a moment, I thought he was going to follow me inside, but he hovered in front of me for a few seconds and flew away.

I quickly filled the feeder with fresh syrup and re-hung it. It wasn't long before the male came back, and was followed by his mate (we assume) later in the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.