personal playground

By stine

print * fold * cut * repeat

since two of the shops that sell my greeting cards asked me for new items and i have about 120 wedding invitations to print, my day has been and will be dominated by printing, folding and cutting with the occasional corner punch here and there.
it's lovely so far - do you know that feeling when you focus on one thing so much that you get really calm and everything seems to flow? as if you are so used to the movements you have done a thousand times that they can't go wrong? i realized a moment ago that an especially neat fold made me really happy. very strange indeed. :)

but although i really like what i'm doing here i started to think about some changes a couple of days ago. digital printing is really quick and fun, but i do miss "real" printing and was thinking about partly switching to letterpress. it's huge in the US already and you get plenty of supply there, but here in germany it's tough to get the materials. since i would love to work with photopolymer plates, i searched for companies that would deliver exposed plates with my designs. not that easy in europe. any printers out there that have ideas? i appreciate every piece of advice before actually purchasing a press!

with so much on my mind and loads of cards to print, i decided to take a very calm blip of my soon-to-be-green spring arrangement. or to say it with jon stewart: "here it is, my moment of zen." :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.