Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Bi-Polar Skiing

So the trip really starts here. A big day to Somashytta, an early start at 5:15 as we wind our way through the woods along yesterday's track with full sacs and the "relatively lighter" blue pulk, then by 8:30 we're reunited with the red pulk.

Although we'd travelled this portion before my emotions were definitely "bi-polar". There's no doubt that you need to be fit to do a trip like this and my training this year was less than in previous years so there was a nagging worry as to whether I'd be up to it. My skiing, especially downhill, is pretty dire too, so that's also a worry. On the positive side though, since my retirement I've probably been a bit more active and this was reflected in my bodyweight actually being a bit less than in previous years.

So bi-polar thoughts of "this is hard, I'm really struggling" through to "hey this is fun, the snow's great and I'm really feeling fit" were going through my mind during this initial uphill leg. For the next 17k the route went across basically flat undulating ground with a couple of frozen lake crossings and I'm pleased to report that the bi-polar swing took a turn for the positive - Don't Worry, Be Happy!

At 14:30 we were at Somashytta with the sight of ski scooters parked outside. A party of four were planning to spend the week there fishing and had completely made themselves "at home" with their possessions, including large chunks of dead meat spread around the place. Anyone who uses mountain huts knows this is completely unacceptable behaviour and Mick used his "best" Norwegian to "explain" this to them.

Fortunately though we had a contingency plan and a further 3.5k would take us into Finland to Kobmajoki, an open Finnish hut. With a wee bit of fun crossing the reindeer fence that follows the Norwegian / Finnish border. Quite interesting wearing skis! And probably would have been more interesting had the snow not been so high.

By 16:00 we were at Kobmajoki which had the advantage over Somas of being a six berth hut as opposed to four which was why we were carrying my three man tent, but when Mick told us to put the tent up there was a bit of mumbling and grumbling that ended up with me and Rancidand sleeping on the floor, which was definitely preferable to being outside in the tent.

Today's photo is Kathy and Philip with pulks en-route from Somashytta to Kobmajoki , with Robert just behind.

Rancidand's Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.