LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Electric

I go the little wireless energy monitor hooked up to the supply cable this evening and, after a brief spell of technojoy running round turning things on and off again I set about finding out the things I really wanted to know. I can now confirm what I always suspected and, at least for my home cinema and PC set-up, switching off at the socket makes no significant difference to the amount of electricity being used. It is around about 0.002Kw/h extra to have everything switched on at the socket than with the sockets turned off. About a fifth of a very low wattage energy saving bulb, and about 1/00th of the 0.221Kw/h the home cinema uses when it is running. Whilst it is some electricty it is most definitely not the amount that some government folk would have you believe and it will most certainly not light up an African village for a year. I will now quite happily extend my equipments lifetime by keeping the sockets turned on.

After that we played on Just Dance which I bought from Asda for £15 but it turned out not to be quite as much fun as Just Dance 2 so that will have to be added to teh collection soon too. It was still exhilarating and I'm sure it will help my upper body stiffness if I play it every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.