surely you can see

By petergarver

Just Mar(r)ied

Hard choice today, as I attended the wedding of my good friend Carl and his wife (!) Michelle. They are both blippers, but a little lapsed (so I didn't link to their blogs). It was an amazing event to actually attend the wedding of people I know well and care about and be such a part of the whole thing - I probably spent less than 15 minutes away from Carl from 7:30 when we got up until 6:30 when I left dinner (the end of the day's events).

But I didn't just attend...I was the only person at the ceremony with a camera, and was semi-officially tasked with photographing the event. (What's more - had they not opted for a courthouse marriage due to permit problems, I would have officiated it!) What I shot could never pass for "wedding photography", but it passes very easily for my kind of photography, and in that sense I'm very happy with the set. Hopefully I can be as happy with the "formals" I took on my TLR.

I've said before (and say again now) that I'll never be a professional photographer (or at least most definitely not a wedding photographer). The weight of having so much of what many people consider the most important day of their life placed on me would be too much. Carl and Michelle weren't expecting all that much, though, and I think they'll be happy.

Of course I'm sure for pros the terror is mitigated by competence, no competence could ever be enough for me. I think a big part of the enjoyment of making pictures for me is that it doesn't matter - anything good is a bonus, and if I get nothing at least I've had a nice walk or some time with good friends. I will keep it that way, and I got some nice bonuses today.

Also, see the obvious dirt-writing mistake, sloppily fixed afterward? Apparently I can't spell either.

(this, thankfully, is far from the best image from today, but I think it's the blippiest. also I am about to backblip yesterday - couldn't post from C&M's couch)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.