Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Lumberjacks

............

I don't like the thought of cutting trees down.
I don't like to see a tree with buds on it being taken down.
I had to be part of this act today.

The trees concerned where Elm and sadly have been attacted by the beetle which causes Dutch Elm disease, so although looking in healthy bud -I was shown the attack holes- they were actually dieing and were potentially a danger as they were on the roadside.

Our friend came to help -without his winch the job could not have ben done- and we worked from 10am to 4pm.
20 of the 24 marked trees were taken out, the remaining 4 will wait for another day

I have to say there was a great deal of very dead wood which will keep us warm next winter.

None of the trees had birds dwelling in them.

One of these lumberjacks is my husband and the other isn't.

Weather here today has been perfect for lumberjacking......cool and breezy.

Any Mums out there.........have a fab day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.