wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Can you see what I can see?

Is that a ... face in the tree?

Why yes, it is. Part of the Ten Days on the Island Festival we have every year - 10 days of art, music, drama, and other assorted cultural things. This is one of the installations - the faces of two prominent colonists and and Aboriginal girl they (sort of) took under their wings for a while, projected as light and dark onto the trees around the fountain named after them. The projections blink, and then the movement of the trees makes them look like their face are alive.

Last night some friends and I made pizza, sat around and ate and chatted and caught up, then headed into town to have a look at these installations. Took a further wander along the docks, but sadly I didn't have a tripod with me, so my photo taking options were a little restricted (also why this shot isn't perfect). But my friends are very understanding and allowed me to take photos of lots of things, patiently waiting for me or moseying along slowly just ahead.

After going back to the house for tea and more chat, I wandered home. Had to stop halfway up the road because the sky was so beautiful - the stars were clear and the clouds fluffy and white. One of those night skies you must just stop and stare at for a while. Beautiful.




In Pippin news, his entertaining feat yesterday was to jump from one chair onto my knee as I sat in an armchair reading my book (The Tyrannicide Brief), eating a fresh crumpet with nutella. A plate was resting on my knee, with a few traces of nutella left. Pippin landed straight in the nutella, then proceeded to move and sit it all onto me. I was grateful just to have picked the crumpet up about 10 seconds before. Cheeky monster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.