I Take Pictures

By itakepictures

Pepper Mill

So today i struck a deal with my dearly beloved so he would accompany be back to the homeland to visit my folks. I'm going up to his parent's next weekend. Pft

The weather held up all day, so after a brief stop in at the house, and bothering my cats mum took up out for a nice walkabout.

She took us to find Peppermill Dam, where a friend of hers had been the previous week and recommended. We found the place after a wee 10 minute detour after overshooting the turn-off. I'll rethink taking canvas shoes next time i go a walk as the ground was fairly muddy underfoot. We passed a very old stone bridge with large fully grown trees growing out of it- no idea how?

Halfway up the path to the dam is a Th Century Mausoleum up a wee hill just in front of the Kilbagie Paper Mill. The gravestones were in quite good condition and some had these ^^^ fascinating carvings on them. I love how a person's life and work could be conveyed simply by using symbols.

We got up to the dam, but since it was approaching 4pm decided to leave the walk around it for anther day. Instead, we headed to the Pineapple at Airth. I can't believe it's so close to where I'm from, but I've never been before.

It's a beautiful building and gardens, i bet it looks amazing in full bloom. I'd like to go explore Dunmore and Elphinstone tower soon too. That area has historic sites aplenty.

Finally, we stopped by Bandeath so i could take some photos of the pier area for my Uni project. By this point we were all bursting for the toilet, so cut the visit short and headed home. So ends a productive Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.