Moments

By togrrrl

A very long time

Today I went with my sister and cousin (two of my closest friends) to my aunt's 99th birthday party. 99 years old today! And she's amazing -- still strong, still sharp, still observant and quick. She lives alone, still does all of her own housework and complains because she doesn't like the way she looks because she is so old.

It was a very nice party. I don't see these relatives very often but they are a lot of fun and I love the sense of belonging and permanence. I asked my aunt to retell some of her stories of the hat store she used to own before she had kids. I told her my memories of her late husband, a taxi driver who used to drive me and my sister to nursery school. He was funny and loud and he scared me because he always used to pretend to pull off his thumb. I must have been three at the time. My aunt just glowed when I talked about her husband. He died about 40 years ago.

Later we went cross-border shopping in Buffalo USA, a very female Canadian thing to do. After all there are bargains to be had! A girl's shopping spree and we spreed. It's been a long time since my sister and cousin and I have spent a day together without husbands or kids and we made the most of it.

Now I am very tired. But happy.

PS This is a picture of the waves and rocks and water of Lake Ontario.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.