Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Happy Mothers' Day

It's Mothers' Day in the UK and this morning I had to be 'spoiled' :-)

My oldest son made pancakes with raspberries and maple syrup (with a bit of help from his daddy). I had cards. H had made a beautiful one at school. 'We were supposed to make them with pink tissue paper flowers,' he said, 'But I thought I'd make yours like *this*," and with a flourish he produced a brightly coloured, swirly, Kandinsky-esque little number. I asked him what his art teacher had said at this little departure from the blueprint, and he said, 'Oh she just said, 'You know what your mother likes best...and then she said the colours were fabulous. Do you think they're fabulous?' I sure did...and I think his art teacher might be a bit fabulous too :-)

Noah apparently chose my card himself...it has large chocolates on the front. I'd like to think this is because he knows me well. Unfortunately I know him well and he LOVES chocolate so I think we can see where the idea came from. It was full of scribble and then in neat print it read 'Love you mummy, love Noah' followed by smaller print which read, 'This translation was done by Henry Grant' which made me smile.

Then we went for a long bike ride, the first of the year so far and now my knees, back and arms are protesting. Bob is cooking a late dinner...late by virtue of the fact that he spent an hour or so bouncing with the boys on the trampoline when we returned from the bike ride.

I took a lot of photos while we were out but I asked Bob to take one of me and the boys on our bikes and this is one I like for Mothers' Day...not only for me but for my own mother who always complains she doesn't have enough photos with me in them.

Special love goes out to my friend Anna who is spending her first Mothers' Day as mother of two in the NICU with teeny tiny Alfred.

And to Mrs. Kerr, mother of Constable Ronan Kerr, who lost her husband recently and has now lost her son, killed by a booby-trap bomb in Omagh yesterday.

My thoughts are with both of these ladies today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.