secret garden

By freespiral

big bright and blowsy!!

Happy mother's day, hope everyone is having a chilled and happy time. My boys have rung and skyped and all is well. The sun is shining and the socks have come off, not a very pretty sight but nice and liberating. Lots of work in the garden, cleared a few paths, sewed some more tomatoes and beetroot, and planted some peas. A little sun and a lot of rain have made everything burst forth. The gunnera is on the move and the bluebells are coming out. I've lost a few plants in the cold winter, mostly flax from New Zealand, but some things obviously loved the cold and i have two rather exotic rhododendron type things blossoming for the first time. These tulips just burst open in all their glory in the sunshine.

Some music for mother's day , more iron and wine. This is one of those rare pieces of music that just stopped me in my tracks the first time I heard it. The lyrics are so wonderful, he has summed up the relationship between sons and their mothers perfectly, they deserve being shown in full - now you can sing along!

Mother don't worry, I killed the last snake that lived in the creek bed
Mother don't worry, I've got some money I saved for the weekend
Mother remember being so stern with that girl who was with me?
Mother remember the blink of an eye when I breathed through your body?

So may the sunrise bring hope where it once was forgotten
Sons are like birds, flying upward over the mountain

Mother I made it up from the bruise on the floor of this prison
Mother I lost it, all of the fear of the Lord I was given
Mother forget me now that the creek drank the cradle you sang to
Mother forgive me, I sold your car for the shoes that I gave you

So may the sunrise bring hope where it once was forgotten
Sons could be birds, taken broken up to the mountain

Mother don't worry, I've got a coat and some friends on the corner
Mother don't worry, she's got a garden we're planting together
Mother remember the night that the dog had her pups in the pantry?
Blood on the floor, fleas on their paws,
And you cried 'til the morning

So may the sunrise bring hope where it once was forgotten
Sons are like birds, flying always over the mountain

Other music that stopped me in my tracks:


Come as you are

Moonlight Sonata

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.