RustyKlicker

By RustyKlicker

Mum.

Mothers Day....what is it all about.

Well in our family, its mostly about appreciating my wife efforts for our children and making sure we take time to do some nice things today and spend time together. To this end we have already tidied the front garden and replaced some dead plants with some fresh ones from the garden centre. The garden is one of my wifes loves so getting this done makes her happy today.

Later this evening we are going out for a family dinner and these nights are always enjoyed by us all.

Although this is my reality for Mothers Day, it really shouldn't be all there is. I am still young at 47, and my mother, if she were still with us would only be 65 and I would love to have her here enjoying days like this with us. She was 52 years old when Cancer took her, not much older than I am now, which is a thought for another day.

Both my kids were born before she passed and she absolutely adored them. My Son was so cute she couldn't believe it, and he was the spitting image of me as a child. She loved that and was so proud.

My Daughter, was her first grandchild and the first girl in our direct family so this was special for my mum. A girl to play with, and play they did! It's becoming scary how similar my daughter is to my mum, but I love it. She has a similar temperament, a very calm outlook on things, or is this just laid back teenager mode, I don't really know. I also catch myself staring at her sometimes thinking how similar she is with her facial expressions and looks. Again, I love it.

If she had only been able to see them both growing up, how proud she would be now, as indeed my wife and I am. They are intelligent, hard working and ambitious young adults that will do well in whatever path the choose.

Anyway, I wanted to reflect my feelings for my mum in today's blip and wasn't sure how to achieve that. I then had the idea for the image above. I wasn't sure about using an image of her gravestone but it gives me the opportunity to reflect what I feel.

On days like this, and Mothers Day is not the only day, I feel like the world is not a bright place for me and the colour I have lost is my mum. I hope the coloured reflections of the flowers show where I think the colour is, but shouldn't be.

We will have a good day today and remember her in our own way...I hope you all have a good day too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.