Memorabilia

In the flea market today I had the opportunity to practise my English with a very kind lady who sold me a beautiful art-deco coffee-pot for 15Euros. The price label said it cost 22 pounds, but I had helped her sell some pocket watches to an old man who didn't speak a word of English, while she only spoke two words of Spanish. So my deal was easily made and she even asked me to stay with her to help her with her business. I wish I could have done so.
In my blip today I just wanted to show you how English we are getting in my area now that this flea or antique market opens every Sunday.
In the next stall, my husband bought an English clock that works and chimes  every 30 minutes for 20Euros. Not a real antique since it is only 40 years old!! The men at the stall, where there were two big lorries full of 'ancient' furniture that they had just brought from England, explained that our local market was their first stop. They complained they hadn't slept a wink: driving all night from Bilbao to this little town where we met them. They did look really tired.
I expect you like this little cup. It's only 6 pounds!
I'll show you my purchase on another occasion. I promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.