Steel City Wildlife

By steelcitywild

Meadow Pipit

I heard from a friend that Willow Warblers had returned to Wharncliffe Chase, and due to other commitments I couldn't get up until late afternoon, by which time I got caught in a couple of nasty downpours and ended up soaked. The Willow Warblers were (sensibly) not out singing, so I'll have to wait until another day, but at least I was kept company by a good few Meadow Pipits, flitting around during a drier spell.

It'll only be a week or so before the Tree Pipits arrive back at Wharncliffe Chase, making pipit ID more of a challenge! The clues that this one is a Meadow are its even streaking on its flanks (on Tree Pipits the streaking are thinner, so-called "pencil lines"), slighltly less prominent supercilium behind the eye, full white eye-ring (more obvious on other pics I took), and the longer hind-claws. The fact it flew off calling helped as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.