Living In The Valley

By CatbirdCottage

Yet The Bradford Blooms

In honor of a very warm spring day, it's bloom time. It's hard to imagine that a few days ago we had a very wet snow. Today was short sleeve weather and tomorrow is suppose to be record high temperatures. What a wild & woolly spring it is.

This is the bloom from the bradford pear tree. It is an ornamental tree. If you have this tree you know it's a beauty in spring. But... there's a drawback.. it is a rather soft tree. A lot of these trees will be damaged by storms. This one didn't fare too well during a fall storm, and part of it is gone. I predicted over and over that it wouldn't make it this winter. But it proved me wrong. I don't know how it will fare during some of the ferocious spring storms we may get. It may prove me wrong again.

Actually it was blooming during the snow the other day. It was quite a sad sight and I just couldn't take a photo of it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.