Yesterday's news

A very misty and rainy day today. I was flicking through my old stuff that lies around my room, when I suddenly found some interesting pieces from behind the days that are gone now. I don't enjoy all the pieces I found, they remind me about things I'd like to think never happened, but, after all, I then just tell myself that "it was then". What else could it be anymore, eh?

I think that as long as we are lagging and thinking about the things we would have done differently, we'll never be moving forward. Not until we let go of yesterday, we're not able to think and see clearly. The snag is to accept the presence, not to drown into past.

There's a song I adore a lot and think it fits these thoughts well. The song's called "Sateentekijä" ("Rainmaker") by Kerkko Koskinen. It's in Finnish, so I made a quick (and perhaps a dumb) translation of the lyrics.

Rainmaker

northern lights, northern lights bounding through the road
waters are, waters are, waters are free at last
only few believe in the rainmaker for sure
there's no destination for my talk

<refrain>
I'm not coming back to the list of known
you'll soon see what I really told
love returns, but I do not
I'll be happy again at least
I'll blithely dump my cigarette
they'll sell me fire in the hell
the skies are flaring, but I do not
I'll be happy again at least

the air is ending, the air is ending, skies are falling down
am not straying, am not straying, am coming back no more
only few believe in the rainmaker for sure
the destination changes once more

<refrain>

<refrain>

nanananana...
you'll soon see what I really told
nanananana...
love returns, but I do not
nanananana...
they'll sell me fire in the hell
nanananana...
I'll be happy again at least

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.