thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Spyway Barn: Dorset barns # 4

This field barn at Langton Matravers in the Purbeck district of Dorset belongs to the National Trust. It is still used for farming purposes and there were chickens running about in the yard.

The limestone quarried in Purbeck is excellent building stone, and most of the older buildings are stone-built with stone roof tiles, as here. The weight of all that stone must strain the roof timbers, yet most seem in good repair.

I took the day off to see a red-flanked bluetail at Durlston. However it was a wet, cold and windy day so the bird remained sensibly hidden for most of the day. It came out for two minutes mid-morning, by which time I'd decided to go wandering off, so I missed it. The rock pipit I photographed on the clifftop was not much consolation.

There must have been some kind of incident on the cliffs. I watched an ambulance, a coastguards vehicle and a coastguards helicopter arrive at the scene, and I could see two people down the hillside receiving help. I hope they are OK.

Dorset barns # 3, and link to # 1 and 2
Rock pipit
Rescue
Landing
Cowslips

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.