[blowfish]

By blowfish

flats

This is Nelson...Nelson is Bernie's dog...Bernie is one of the co-owners of Trinity Bicycles...Trinity Bicycles is one of the few bike shops in town here...town here is Fort Worth.

Back to Nelson. Nelson is great. I think he may be a rescue dog. But he is usually there when I stop in and will come up and greet you. One time I saw him roll on his back for a little kid to rub his belly. Another time I saw him eating a box. Tonight he was particularly frisky and wanted to play with his tennis ball, barking and jumping at me to bounce it around the shop. He is great. I really like him a lot. Nelson and I could be real buds.

So, I read on Facebook that Trinity was hosting a shop ride every Tuesday and Thursday at 7:00PM. I knew Leah was going to be out studying and I had a good afternoon of tutoring and needed a physical workout. I rode the 6 miles over to the shop (with a brief pre-stop at Chat Room Pub for a cheap, cheap beer) but on the way hit one of the many potholes on the Southside's shitty roads, immediately getting a pinch flat (flat #1). Pulled over into a parking lot and changed her out, leaving only about 3 minutes to get to the shop. Bryan, the other co-owner, and who was leading the ride tonight, was a little late so I had plenty of time to talk to Pat and Bernie and play around with Nelson.

Okay, so we head out down the trail and suddenly my tire explodes, gunshot-style. Usually when you hear that you know the tube and tire is completely blown. Turns out, the bead just came out of one side. The tube, of course, was completely fucked (flat #2). About a three-inch gash. I flipped her over and changed it out, with the new tube I just bought about 20 minutes ago at Trinity to replace the one in my bag I used at the parking lot (always need a spare...but after tonight I have learned that two spares may be even smarter). After that long delay we ride about ten or twelve more miles and my back tire goes flat, loses all its air in a few rotations (flat #3). Probably just needs to be patched but it was way too dark to be messing around with finding that minute hole, even with my bike lights. Told the guys to just go on without as I was only about 3 miles away from my apartment by this time. Just got back from hoofing it home. I think I need a proper refresher course from some trained professionals (or Leah) on correct flat-changing.

Tomorrow morning I take my second of three practice GREs until the real deal on the 20th. I don't feel like I am improving, especially on the reading comprehension, but I also don't feel like I have adequately studied. It's hard to stay focused on it. With the latest Murakami short story collection and novella by Jean-Christophe Valtat, however, no problem. Blazed through that shit easily and enjoyably. Tomorrow, though: another day. Let's hope all the air stays in.

Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.