On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Penguin Modern Poets 1 to 26

Love is you and love is me
Love is a prison and love is free
Love's what's there when you're away from me
Love is ...


Love Is ... by Adrian Henri, Penguin Modern Poets 10, 1967

I was reading a book the other day on Graphic Design since the 1960s and one or two covers from this series were singled out as design classics.

The Penguin Modern Poets series was originally published between 1962 and 1975. Some of the published poets (26 x 3 = 78) remain unkown to me. Some of them are known because I have read their work. Some I have seen in the flesh. Indeed, in Edinburgh in the 1960s some of them were regularly visible.

One name rankles, that of B. S. Johnson. I had a prose work of his as originally published in a box, all chapters separately stapled, readable in any order. I gave it away or sold it for a song and I believe it is quite valuable now.

Do you have any favourites from these 78 poets?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.