Ties No Longer Needed

I had a meeting in the Central Business District for the first time since the quake. It took a long and convoluted trip to get into a place that is usually quite simple to access.
Lots of chatting to army men and policemen to get the right directions and once I got there - oh - the devastation. Until now the reality of how broken things are in town have only been viewed on TV or on YouTube, but I stood at the Bridge of Remembrance today and saw Cashel Street for the first time... I don't know how it will be fixed any time soon. The rest of the CBD is just as broken.
This damage is obvious, but what will take longer to rebuild is our infrastructure: sewers, water mains and power - it is precarious at present and the coming Winter will bring new stresses to it.

Backblips start here

It's been quiet for a day or so, but I would have to be woken by a rollicking good shake - bugger it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.