Rodents rule

By squirk

A learning curve with a Waterloo sunsset

Too much choice is a problem, I find. Yesterday, I dropped the trusty Canon IXUS 750 and now the zoom function does not work. I can still work the other stuff, but I love the zoom and I miss it. So, I have the opportunity to buy a new camera, and that's extremely exciting. I went camera shopping today, but I have returned empty-handed mainly because I'm dazzled by the array of cameras and I'm still leraning about what I would like from a camera.

My criteria so far:

- zoom (but not at the cost of picture-quality). I could be greedy here, but the cameras I like the look of are x6, and is that enough? Rodents are quite small, and usually far away...

- macro

- size. It still has to fit in the small bag so the large SLRs are out, but I could go bigger than my IXUS.

- manual settings. I've started to dabble in this and I'm really enjoying it.


I'm also a big fan of the IXUS and its quality, which leans me towards Canon more than the other brands. But is this just a comfort zone thing?

Catching my eye are the:
Canon Powershot G9
Canon Powershot A720

...and what about all the Lumix varieties? x18 zoom!!

I need a cup of tea and a sit down to digest all the opportunities. In the meantime, I'm zoomless, but not cameraless. I can bide my time until the right choice appears.

Any advice is happily accepted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.