horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

That's a Wrap

I have a history of bloody-mindedness that won't come as a surprise to many who know me. When I was 17 I got a C in my French Higher. A 'C'. I was damned good at French, how could I have got a 'C'? Well, okay, messing about and not really paying attention to things and falling in with the wrong crowd outside of school may have contributed.

So with four more Higher subjects slated for 6th year did I let that 'C' stand? No. I did five Higher subjects instead. And got an 'A' in French.

So really, when I was annoyed with myself for my new bar tape not having been perfect on the 'not quite' day a couple of days ago it wasn't really too big a deal to order some more bar tape and get it spot on tonight. I'll be happier riding the bike tomorrow for it all being 'right'. As for the ride, I'm torn on a tour of places in Edinburgh on wildlife hunts (Cammo in the morning to meet a stunningly good wildlife photographer; then down the Almond, and along the coast for lunch, probably with a cycling friend of mine) or heading out of the city (probably over the B7007 to Innerleithen). Not sure what I'm more in the mood for - I guess a start would be to check with people to see if they're available...

Getting back on the bike will be something of a relief after a couple of days graft, walking from Balerno to Leith yesterday (not that far really, but I've not done a lot of walking and it's different muscles required from cycling); then today the whole 'working' day spent in the front garden weeding; cutting; moving gravel out; putting in new pebbles (i.e. a LOT of heaving lifting). Pork pie plus bacon sarnie for lunch helped.

Although today I did do something I'm not proud of. For the first time in my life. I locked myself out of the house.... The garage back door was still open so I jumped the wall and was able to carry on with the gardening while waiting for Mel's dad to come and rescue me with his spare keys. I was on safe ground here - I've driven up to Perthshire on a weekday night to deliver spare car keys after he and his walking companion locked them in the boot. Got to my bed about 4am that night/morning....

City wildlife ride I think...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.