Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Old Florida #2 - Coquina house

This small gem of a house is in nearby Cortez, Florida. The exterior walls and the chimney of the house are built of coquina rock. It isn't an historic house, and the current resident took issue with me standing nearby taking photos, so don't know anything about the structure, nor did I take as many photos as I would have liked. There are several similar houses around the area and I would say this one may have been built as early as 1910-1920. A few additional shots are here. You cat lovers won't want to miss the kitty dozing in the sun in the front window.

Cortez is an authentic and still working fishing village just about two miles from me and is on the way to the beach. Cortez also boasts a US Coast Guard station. The little town oozes charm and I'd love to live there. But the prices are high, insurance is difficult to get, and evacuation during a hurricane is mandatory. Also, I'm pretty wedded to living somewhere that has a swimming pool, which my apartment complex does.

There are many web sites about coquina rock and how it is used in construction, but this one seemed fairly comprehensive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.