Me and Max

By grete

The Art of Holding a Pen

When he was one, I gave him a giant journal and a set of crayons for his birthday. He instantly fell in love with the red, and was utterly perplexed when we suggested he try another colour.....

When my son, little man´s dad, asked me how I envisaged spending time with my first grandchild, (the baby still a dream inside his mummy´s tummy), I said looked forward to journal with him (!) I had picked up a pen some twenty years ago myself, and a world had opened...

As Joan Didion I write entirely to find out what I´m thinking, what I´m looking at, what I see and what it means. What I want and what I fear.

So I will continue giving him a pen and paper. But as soon as I´m sure he will not throw it on the floor to see if it bounces, I will also put a camera in his hands......... :-)

(Actually, he was allowed to press the shutter today, on multi shot mode. He was utterly thrilled. And I have about twenty shots of the ceiling...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.