Henry 1913-2011

Lovely walk with Juno, twice up the hill in search of dog company.

Taking to texting my mum in the morning this week to make sure she is ok. When she phoned back I knew what the news was. My grandad died in the early hours.

He was 97 years old, managed to live in his own house, dress and look after himself and wife until Sunday afternoon when his health sadly failed.

My memory is his big hands stuffing pennies, chocolate biscuits and fruit in my pockets when I was young as I left his house. His hands were always huge.

He was so full of energy and only recently stopped cutting the hedge, washing the windows and doing the garden.

At family occasions he was always on the ball and the heart of the party.

When I was 10 at a family new year party he told me that he did not feel well and was not long for this world, I howled and cried for ages, so to me I have had 37 years bonus time.

Kept in contact with mum during the day to make sure she was ok. She is great.

Work was ok.

Met up with some pals tonight who we have not seen for ages, great to catch up and we will do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.