this luminous life.

By Laura

Hold Music.

Architecture in Helsinki.

I probably shouldn't talk about this so publicly on blip, but one of the things I hate about my school's radio station is that everything is going digital. They put all the vinyl records in storage. The CDs are not accumulating as often as they used to, and all the music has been placed in iTunes on the computer in the station. Almost every DJ brings his or her iPod into the station and plays a playlist over the air. They usually just sit there and browse the net while letting the playlist play. I think it's boring after awhile... just clicking on iTunes and picking songs while sitting alone in the little glass room (they moved the station this year too, so there is no longer a lounge to hang out in).

My big frustration with this is that I don't have an iPod. I have never wanted one - I hate the things... I hate when people have headphones plugged in and don't pay attention when you say "Hi" while walking past. I know iPods tend to break a lot too. Plus you can't take the music off the iPod, but only put it on. But the only reason I have considered wanting one lately is because the station itself rarely has music that I want to play on my show. They also got rid of the CD drive so I can't burn CDs and play them off the computer. So with limited albums (harder to find now too, they never seem to be where they should be on the shelves) and not having the kind of music I want to play, I'm stuck with the same songs week after week. It almost makes me not want to have a show anymore.

Solution: My dad won a karaoke contest several months ago and won an iPod nano. He has yet to use or open it... and after some contemplating, I decided to ask him if I could borrow it for my radio show. So... here it is (arrived yesterday). Only to be used for my show, though. I have to give it back to him when I'm done (only a couple more months), as good as new. My problem is that I can't figure out how to open the package without destroying it...

[A year ago today... "Big Boy" at the Art Institute.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.