Susie'sLittle London Life

By susieb

At last, the inevitable.....

200 blips in. I'm surprised it's taken this long. It was going to happen eventually, though.

A blip of a big lump of cheese.



I had some really funny encounters today.

I'd suffered the ignominy of a terrible middle-class-disaster the day before, when my Sainsbury's online grocery order just failed to show up. G was out, and I was dependent on it for my dinner, resulting in a very late feast of baked beans on toast. As the next available slot was 2 days later, grumpily, I headed home to spend my afternoon off at the supermarket.

I made an impromptu stop at Borough Market, though, to cheer myself up and buy some cheese.
Me: "this is my favourite cheese, what's the biggest piece you have?".
Cheesemonger "oh right <strange look>..... this one".
Me "great, thanks" simultaneously breaking into it, and handing over the cash.... "<mumbled through fromage>.... do you mind if I take a photo for my daily photo blog?"......
Cheesemonger "of the cheese? really? sure!". I think she was relieved when I'd gone......

Of course, the cheese obsession is accompanied by ham, so I skipped off to the supermarket deli counter, lifted by my earlier purchase.

Me: "can I have 500g of thickly sliced ham please?".
Ham-lady: "sorry, I didn't hear you properly. I thought you said 500g".
Me: "yes, i did".
Ham-lady <strange look> "oh, right. No one's ever bought that much ham before. What do you need it for?"

At this point, I should probably have owned up to the fact that it would probably last me until Saturday lunchtime, but for some reason, I chose to lie instead. To the young ham-lady in the supermarket. Oh the shame........ "it's for a children's party. Ham sandwiches."

Ham-lady, not believing me, I am a terrible fibber.... "but you said you wanted it thickly sliced".
Me: "oh, did I? I meant thinly". It's fair to say I was there for a while....... What a wally.

Thanks everyone for the lovely comments on yesterday's blip. I really appreciate them, and am slowly getting around to dropping in on your journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.