John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

The Beach at Gullane

Far too nice to be inside so grabbed the camera and headed for the beach.

Here's a thing! This is a million miles from the Beach at Trouville - and is a million miles from the sort of image that Monet or Boudin would produce. And yet when I walk along a long sandy beach in this particular kind of light I just want to somehow turn it into a French-style Impressionist picture. I have no idea why! And for absolutely sure I never could do it anyway! Maybe someone who knows more about art than I do can explain why those particular connections come into my brain. (Artists or psychologists - I'm not too sure which would be able to help.) Or maybe it's just "scrambled eggs"!

Anyway, nice walk it certainly was!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.