Sweet dusty-bones

By sweetdustybones

Fighter Jet

Tales of the Unexpected

Tale Number One: Butterfly Rescue

We have a new garage door. The old one had lots of old cracks and gaps for creepy crawlies to sneak in and out as they pleased. The new one is a solid fortress of plastic; better for us, but not so good for the bugs. My sister noticed that there was a butterfly flapping determinedly against the inside of the glass panel in the door. We opened the garage to find three very thirsty, fading butterflies trapped inside the now inpenetrable garage. I started snapping, while my Father rebuked me for being like a war photographer, distancing myself from the suffering subject. We took the creatures outside, placed them amongst the foliage and provided water droplets. We observed with wonder as this beautiful little creature used it's long straw-like antenna to suck up the water, slowly regaining energy and strength.

Tale Number Two: Toad in the Hole

My sister is up from London. She was dismayed to discover that her pogo-stick (kept in our garage) was missing it's rubber bung at the bottom. I explained that I had attempted a pogo a few weeks ago in damp conditions, and after just one bounce on the grass, the device had created a deep hole in the lawn leaving the rubber bung in the bottom of said hole. I told her that I could probably find the hole and we could dig out the bung. I quickly identified the spot, stuck my finger down the hole and let out a yelp. "there's a dead frog in there"!. I ran inside to wash my hands. "The frog's not dead", Little sis replied. And there he was - our little toad in the hole - hiding from the sun, guarding our pogo bung. We decided to dig it out another day and leave our little green friend in peace.

Sorry for all the links today, couldn't choose so thought I'd tell the story of today using a few different shots.

Hope you're all enjoying the weekend :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.