a town called E.

By Eej

Of Lakota and Man Caves

We left the house before 10 to drive south to meet Ernie LaPointe, the oldest living male descendent (= great-grandson) of Sitting Bull, Lakota Chief and Holy Man. I was massively excited and a bit scared because I wanted a portrait ... and the courage to ask for one. Fortunately photography was not allowed, so that made things easy. I talked to his wife who is lovely and German, so when I said I'm Dutch she said: "Oh, you must miss the cheese so much!" Instant friendship :)
We bought mr. LaPointe's book, and he signed it. I would have loved to sit and listen to him for hours, and hopefully we'll be able to catch a lecture of some sort one day.
Back home, through scenic places ... all looking very grey. Still. In Vandalia (at this point I should maybe add a map) we stopped at an abandoned church and talked about how we'd buy it and fix it of we were rich. Ah, to daydream ...

I had to lay down a bit when we came home, because we had a surprise party to go to and I was worn out. Old woman :/

The party was held in the single bestest man cave in the history of man caves. It was also loads of fun AND an actual surprise for the birthday girl. There was food and more food and boxed wine that I drank from a plastic cup. Fab.
And then the sun came out and within hours people had miraculously changed into shorts and flipflops. It was hot!
Crazy Michigan weather.
And before we left the horses came out to be petted and to lick our hands.

What a ridiculously fun day. I am, however, so tired from the sun and tipsy from quite a bit of wine that my storytelling skills have flown out the door. I will remember how utterly fabulous it was regardless :)

ps. I used to be scared of horses.
pps. I contemplated photoshopping this horse into a unicorn.
ppps. It didn't look this dark and magical when I took the photo, but it's how it felt to me.
pppps. I'm not usually this Horriganesque ;)

And then there was THIS:a Special Surprise. I feel so loved :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.