ivisualise365. j.a.m.i.e.

By jamiemcdine

Sorry Fox

This morning we went to the home of photography - Lacock Abbey. Whist there I had to recreate Fox Talbot's famous shot of the lattice window aka The Oriel Window. Thanks to modern technology I could shoot it on my DSLR then tweaked it to be about the right level of black and white using photoshop (as well as slightly warping the image to straighten up the windows). And then simply inverted the image to be a negative.

If I can get my hands on some frames and solution I might do some sun prints from this negative soon, that would be fun :)

But of course that isn't what appears here! Whilst inside the house we saw that one of the rooms had really dramatic lighting, beautiful furniture and decorations and was perfect for this portrait of a Mystery woman... which I just found to be more interesting and exciting visually than the windows. Sorry Mr Talbot!

You can view the shots of the Lattice Window on my Flickr stream:
POSITIVE and NEGATIVE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.