MoonKats Pixels

By GailJones

A Walk in the graveyard

After dinner I went for a drive with my sister, it's funny the different places you don't know exist, even though I've lived in the same town most of my life.

I found lots of great things to take a photo of, but this was the best. At first I thought I didn't like churches, but they actually fascinate me- if I can find nothing else, I always find a church.
When you go in, there is again the impression of two churches joined together, the near one Victorian and wide, the far one narrower and older. In fact, this impression is almost exactly right. The original medieval church is now the north aisle ahead of you which is why the tower off-centre. The 1872 nave you step into is an Anglo-Catholic architect; William Butterfield. The chequerboard flint work on the porch is similar to St Mary Le Tower in the middle of town, which I blipped earlier on the 20th January.

(I am also pleased I managed to link this up! I'm a techincal wizzard today :oD )

Photo: St Mary at Stoke, Ipswich

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.