Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

Hip, Hip, Hipstamatic

6.15 p.m. My flat, Brockley, South East London. Note to anyone. Try not to stay out in the sun too long. I think I must of yesterday as i have ended up being indoors all day with suspected sunstroke. So, I have been drinking copious amounts of water and applying vats of aftersun in the hope of returning to normal (?!)

Instead, I stayed in bed and edited work, before sending off a taxi driver with some photos for an exhibition. And then sorting through photos for my first ever exhibition of photos from my iPhone. I think quite a few people (mainly professional photographers) have been pretty dismissive of anyone using iPhones and the various photo apps (Hipstamatic, Instagram, Camera Bag, Pudding etc) as just simple throwaway images, but as New York Times staff photographer Damon Winter's wonderful Hipstamatic Portfolio of American troops in Afgahnistan showed it's validity as an app to be taken seriously.

And let's not forget that the great photojournalist of the early part of the twentieth century Walker Evans concluded his working life shooting photos on a 'Toy' camera (Polaroid) So, if Polaroid was good enough for Walker Evans back in the seventies, I'm sure Hipstamatic is good enough for some of the best photographers now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.