Jess & Molly Law

By jml

On the Beach

Another lovely sunny day (so far, anyway) in the East Neuk. Jess & Molly came down to Largo Beach for a run-around.

A good time was had by all. Molly barked and played in the water; Jess barked and stayed, mostly, on the rocks. I sat by and watched.

But the good times came to an end when we turned for home. Jess allowed herself to go on the lead very willingly, but Molly was having none of it. I had known that the tide was in, meaning that there was not much room on the beach itself. So I expected - more fool me - that it would be easy to corner her.

I tried treats and I tried orders. I tried going up to her slowly and I tried walking away. Nothing was going to work. The bottom-right photo shows her defiantly watching Jess & me at the car. She is at a 'safe' distance - as soon as I move towards her, she'll be off.

Eventually, I tried a trick I had used once before, on Luing. With Jess securely tied in the boot, I drove away leaving the boot lid open. It worked, and she was back in a flash!

Then it was time to go to the fishmonger whose shop is beside the car park. She was good enough to give us some salmon off-cuts for the dogs, but I muttered that Molly did not deserve anything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.