What is it about Kökar that I love?

It is the rugged and nearly pristine nature. When I walk around it is like a spiritual experience, I feel a huge respect towards the island. I watch my step, not to damage anything. Climbing the rocks is kind of meditation, I have to focus on every step, not to fall over. Kökar is not an "easy" place. That is also what I love; to be challenged by the nature.

Spring is my favorite time to be at Kökar. I love its subtle colors, before the green and colorful takes over and the peace before the summer guests arrive. The local people don't move around a lot, they can be seen at the shop, the postoffice or at the bank (there is only one of each on the island). So where ever you go on Kökar you find places where you can be alone.

Best large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.