The way I see it.

By christinePears

More birds!

Promise I wont blip birds tomorrow but I had a very wonderful experience today finding a huge flock of what I think are Golden Plovers. But going by my form yesterday I could be very wrong!

I had gone over to Wick to order 3 tons of gravel and a new shovel to move it all with, from the builders yard. It is time to finally put it down in the garden now that the major part of construction and moving stuff around is almost complete. I decided to take a new country road back home and keep my eye out for a blip. Came across a field of Shetland ponies and then an old house that had a boat and a Clydesdale horse in the front garden! Both were blipped. Then as I was crossing over the highest bit of land I noticed a flock of birds in amongst the grass where some sheep and their lambs were grazing. I stopped, and slowly climbed over the gate and approached as close as I could. There must have been more than a thousand of them and as I got nearer they all sank down into the grass and I would have sworn they had all disappeared!

A landrover pulled up at the gate. I had been spotted behaving oddly in the field by the farmer and he was just "coming to check on the lambs" ie he wanted to find out what the heck I was up to! He turned out to be very friendly and interested in the birds. He had seen them last night flying in a tight flock and was hoping that I was going to tell him what they were. Had to confess that I would have to go back and look them up.

They finally let me know that they had had enough of me by lifting up from the field in unision and doing an amazing fly past. The sound of their wings was like the whooshing of wind as they twisted and tumbled in perfect harmony above my head and then off into the distance.

Amazing what you see and learn about when out blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.