Thanks Roz!

For the most part I had a crap day today. I was in bed all day feeling sorry for myself. Sweat pouring off me but feeling cold and achey with a streaming nose and hacking cough.

Roz cheered me up no end at the end of the day though. She went up to Tescos and when she came back she had this with her. I'v had to work Thursday evenings for the last couple of months. Unfortunately Thursday is when my team (Aberdeen) has been playing in the UEFA cup. Given that this is by no means a regular occurence for Aberdeen it's been disappointing not getting to go to the games. Still I've been consoling myself by taping the matches, which have been shown on the BBC, avoiding the score and watching it after work as if it is live.

Unfortunately for this weeks tie (second leg against Bayern Munich with the score level at 2-2) The BBC have opted to only show the Rangers game. They have th eresources to screen both (particularly with BBC interactive and the red button on freeview boxes) they just opted not to. Their justification was that they have shown seven aberdeen matches from the UEFA cup but only four of Rangers games. This would be fair enough but Rangers were actually playing inthe champions leage earlier in the season and the BBC didn't have th erights to screen those games having been outbid by ITV. They have shown every game played by Rangers that they have been able to.

Anyway, this week it was anounced that the Aberdeen game would be shown on Setanta, a subscription channel here in the UK. If I wasn't working and feeling rubbish I'd just have gone to th epub to watch the match but that isn't an option.

Anyway, to cut to the chase, when Roz was in Tescos she saw these boxes which had been £100 reduced down to £24.50 and since we needed a new freeview box for the bedroom she grabbed me one. The best bit it comes with a months free subscription to Setanta meaning I can tape the game. Admittedly you have to sign up for at least 1 further month at a cost of £9.99 but it's timed perfectly so that if I only take the 1 extra month I'll get the Joe Calzaghe fight in April too.

I have a great girlfriend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.