KatGirl

By katgirl

Amish Soup

This soup was quick enough for me to make after returning home from work this evening. I chopped the onion & carrots this morning. We rarely have extra cooked egg noodles - so I decided to make the soup since we had the noodles in the fridge. When I make Minestrone, I add the noodles in the last 15 minutes of cooking. I imagine the same could be done with this if you do not have cooked noodles on hand. It was very yummy, and pretty, too.

6 cups chicken broth
1 chopped onion
2 diced carrots
Pinch of Saffron
1 cup corn kernels (fresh or frozen)
2 boneless, skinless raw chicken breasts diced into small pieces
1 cup of cooked egg noodles
Salt & Pepper to taste (I used a little less than ½ tsp of each)
Chopped fresh Parsley & Dill to taste

Bring the broth to boil & add the onion, carrots, and saffron. Simmer for 15 minutes. If your corn is frozen, add it now.

After 15 minutes, add the chicken & noodles (and corn if it is fresh). Simmer for 10 minutes until the chicken is cooked.

Add the salt, pepper, dill, and parsley to taste & simmer for a few more minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.