more about me ...

By pyewacket

39.16 watt birthday wish

It's my 47th birthday today - thank you very much - and I'm searching around for a good blip opportunity. I've taken some pictures of the cakes I brought in to work, a birthday card I received and, remembering this week's blipfoto challenge from missymoo of "work!", some random shots of things in my workplace.

Nothing I've shot so far has grabbed me apart from this photo of a wall light in the stairwell.

Prior to 1948, various standards for luminous intensity were in use in a number of countries. These were typically based on the brightness of the flame from a "standard candle" of defined composition, or the brightness of an incandescent filament of specific design. One of the best-known of these was the English standard of candlepower. One candlepower was the light produced by a pure spermaceti candle weighing one sixth of a pound and burning at a rate of 120 grains per hour.

Now - and this is just a bit of fun - as the average 100 watt light bulb emits about 120 candles then if the above wall light had a bulb of 39.16 watts it would emit 47 candles (approximately). So if I were to extinguish such a bulb - close my eyes and make a wish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.