Deeside Diaries

By LadyP

His First Pineapple

Last year at Easter (which was the first weekend in April, if you remember), I had a houseful - Mum, Dad, Sister & her two children - baby daughter & a 6 year old son.
Lets not forget my 2 cats & one enormous black Lab.

When they left, I had this pineapple stuck to my fridge - it is still there, as you can see. It was made by the wee boy and was the first thing he made with his new toy.

He was under the weather at the time, but did not improve once back home - various trips to the doctor & hospital for various new symptoms & ailments eventually led to a diagnosis of Leukemia.

Almost a year into his treatment cycle, he has lost his hair more times than I can remember - and grown it back again. Been grumpy, constantly starving or feeling too sick to eat. Stuck with more needles than a child of that age should ever have to deal with, lumbar punctures every other week, and finally a central line to stop him from turning into the pin cushion he probably felt like.

Sometimes getting a smile was difficult but, so far so good - however I don't want to tempt fate, so I won't. Let's just say that the adaptability of kids is amazing.

On the days when you feel like crap, think of how awful it could really be and be grateful that it isn't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.